Phoenix Design

Typish

Orientation

One of the most important aspects of good Interface Design is orientation. Confronted with today’s nearly endless digital options, people need to be able to concentrate on what’s immediately relevant for the action at hand.

For years now, our User Interface experts have been very successful in making people from a wide variety of industries experience such intelligent operation. Whether in the mountains or on the road, Phoenix Design creates clarity.

Ergonomics is tactile user guidance

Phoenix Design conceives Usability across disciplines. Just like an interface should be oriented along the lines of cognitive user needs, the “hardware” should reflect the visual and tactile user needs. How lightweight or heavy may Ibex be? How does the device feel like in wet conditions? Can it still be operated at freezing temperatures – even when wearing gloves?

This is where our 30 years of product design experience really comes into its own: Phoenix Design is one of the few studios boasting an ergonomics expert. Together with our Surface Team and our in-house model building workshop, we developed an optimum shape for the Falk device housing: providing a good grip, conveying a premium impression, and delivering robust performance.

Product design is brand management

We claim: The product is always at the centre of the brand. Unlike advertising and marketing, the product is perceived with all senses, often day in and day out. That’s precisely why our design – both digital and physical – is always an achievement for the benefit of the brand as well.

In front of this backdrop, the Ibex navigation device embodies everything that Falk has been representing for decades now*: quick orientation, and at the same time convenient handling.

* The specialty of these city maps is that thanks to the patented folding developed by Falk, the city map can be used like a book. Thanks to the special Falk folding technique, the map will keep its handy pocket book format even when in use.

Splash water proof.

Dirt resistant.

Operable even with gloves.

Ibex / Pantera

Phoenix Design usually doesn’t work on the individual product. Rather, we think further, in terms of product portfolios, always bearing the brand in mind. Because despite all differences, Falk products need to be recognisable as such right away.

We see to that e.g. by consistently positioning and scaling the company emblem. In addition, we developed a “brand frame” surrounding the housing, signalling Falk as the originator already from a distance.

Ibex

Outdoor navigation: Falk Ibex is a robust companion, ready for any adventure.

Pantera

The bicycle computer for ambitious cyclists: take the Falk Pantera along to crack top times and climb mountain passes.

Orientation

Did you like the story? Share or send this page. Do you have any questions? We are happy to help.

Silvia Olp

Silvia Olp

Head of Communications

Enable JavaScript to view protected content.

Nächste Geschichte

Phoenix Design

Typish

Orientierung

Einer der wichtigsten Aspekte eines guten Interface Designs ist Orientierung. Menschen brauchen bei den nahezu unendlichen Optionen der heutigen Digitaltechnik die Möglichkeit, sich auf das zu konzentrieren, was für sie im Moment der Aktion relevant ist.

Unsere User Interface Experten beschäftigen sich seit Jahren sehr erfolgreich damit, diese Intelligenz der Bedienung für Menschen in den unterschiedlichsten Branchen erlebbar zu machen. Ob in den Bergen oder auf der Straße, Phoenix Design schafft Klarheit.

Ergonomie ist taktile Nutzerführung

Phoenix Design denkt Usability disziplinübergreifend. Genauso so, wie sich ein Interface an den kognitiven Erfordernissen des Anwenders orientieren sollte, muss die »Hardware« den optischen und taktilen Bedürfnissen des Nutzers entsprechen. Wie leicht oder schwer darf der Ibex sein? Wie fasst sich das Gerät bei Nässe an? Ist es auch bei Minusgraden – sogar mit Handschuhen – bedienbar?

Hier kommt unsere 30-jährige Erfahrung im Produktdesign zum Tragen: Phoenix Design gehört zu den wenigen Studios, die sich Ergonomie-Experten leisten. Gemeinsam mit dem Surface-Team und der hausinternen Modellbauwerkstatt haben wir für Falk eine optimale Gehäuseform herausgearbeitet: griffig, wertig und robust.

Produktdesign ist Markenführung

Wir behaupten: Das Produkt ist immer Zentrum der Marke. Im Gegensatz zu Werbung und Marketing wird es mit allen Sinnen wahrgenommen, und das oft täglich. Genau aus diesem Grund ist unser Design – ganz gleich, ob digital oder physisch – immer auch eine Arbeit für die Marke.

Vor diesem Hintergrund verkörpert das Ibex Navigationsgerät all das, wofür Falk seit Jahrzehnten steht*: schnelle Orientierung bei gleichzeitig praktischem Handling.

* Das Besondere an diesen Stadtplänen ist, dass man mit der von Falk entwickelten, patentierten Faltung den Stadtplan wie ein Buch benutzen kann. Die Karte behält durch die spezielle Falk-Faltung auch beim Gebrauch immer ihr handliches Taschenbuchformat.

Spritzwasserdicht.

Schmutzresistent.

Mit Handschuhen bedienbar.

Ibex / Pantera

Phoenix Design arbeitet selten am einzelnen Produkt. Vielmehr denken wir übergreifend in Sortimenten und haben dabei immer die Marke im Sinn. Denn bei aller Unterschiedlichkeit müssen Falk-Produkte sofort als Solche erkennbar sein.

Dafür sorgen wir beispielsweise mit einer konsequenten Positionierung und Skalierung des Firmenemblems. Ergänzend dazu haben wir einen »Brand Frame« entwickelt, der das Gehäuse umschließt und von weitem Falk als Urheber signalisiert.

Ibex

Outdoor-Navigation: der Falk Ibex ist als robuster Begleiter für jedes Abenteuer zu haben.

Pantera

Der Radcomputer für ambitionierte Radfahrer: mit dem Falk Pantera Bestzeiten knacken und Passhöhen bezwingen.

Orientierung

Hat Ihnen die Geschichte gefallen? Teilen oder versenden Sie diese Seite. Haben sie Fragen zu dem Thema? Gerne helfen wir Ihnen weiter.

Silvia Olp

Silvia Olp

Head of Communications

Enable JavaScript to view protected content.

Weitere Geschichten